Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Punchy Walker Award Winners

UNB announced this year's recipients of the "Punchy Walker Awards" earlier this evening.  Punchy Walker was a goaltender for UNB back from 1947-1950, and every year three players are selected as merit award winners in his memory. 

This year's recipients were Luke Gallant, Hunter Tremblay, and Kyle Bailey for their commitments both on the ice and in the classroom. Congratulations, guys.

The ceremony included past winners of the award, UNB's new President, Dr. Campbell, as well as members of Varsity Reds Athletics.  The reception gave UNB the opportunity to thank friends, fans, and sponsors in the community for their dedication, as well provide a forum to formally introduce the 2009-2010 edition of the team in person.

And yes, newcomers Jeff Lee and Josh Kidd were both in attendance.  They are real, big, and here.

1 comment:

David Kilfoil said...

oh noooes ... did they say merit awards?!


But seriously, it was a nice evening (even though the weather was terrible) and a great opportunity for the players to meet the hockey program's supporters, and most importantly, Punchy's widow Lois.