Friday, March 16, 2012

All-1980's Team Announced

The CIS Nationals Legacy Committee announced the All-Decade team for the 1980's today. Unsurprisingly, the team includes a number of players off of the 1983-84 AUAA championship team. Here is how the line-up looks:

First Team
Forwards: Mark Jeffrey, John LeBlanc and Sid Veysey
Defence: Dave Bluteau and Dave Mancuso
Goal: Kevin Rochford

Second Team
Forwards: Gary Agnew, Mike Kelly and Robbie Forbes
Defence: Scott Clements and Paul Murphy
Goal: Scott Brogan

Current head coach Gardiner MacDougall is quick to point out the importance of the teams and players of the 1980's and how they have impacted the modern day Varsity Reds. Says MacDougall:
The UNB Hockey program prides itself on 'playing for those who have played before us' – certainly the success of the 1980's teams and players has provided a key spark in our successful tradition and has been a key source of inspiration for our modern day success.”
The members of the UNB All-Decade Teams will be recognized during the Cavendish University Cup next week.