Thursday, March 5, 2015

Maillet, Gazzola, MacDougall Among Award Winners

The AUS announced the men's hockey award winners as well the 1st, 2nd, and All-Rookie teams yesterday and it was a big day for the V-Reds.

- Forward Philippe Maillet captured the MVP award (Kelly Trophy) after leading the league in scoring with 39 points and posting a +17 rating. He is the 4th V-Red in history to take home the award, joining Dax McLean (1997-98), Rob Hennigar (2007-08), and Hunter Tremblay (2009-10), and will now represent the AUS as its nominee for the CIS Player of the Year.

- Defenceman Randy Gazzola became the 10th UNB player, and 2nd consecutive after Maillet last year, to win the AUS Rookie of the Year (A.J. MacAdam Award). Gazzola was an impact player in his freshman year, putting up 24 points and the 2nd best +/- rating in the conference at +21 all while logging big minutes and being a key contributor on both special teams units. Gazzola will now look to become the 3rd UNB player to be named the CIS Rookie of the Year after Kevin Young (2003-04) and Ryan Lindsay (1997-98) accomplished the feat.

- Head coach Gardiner MacDougall was named the AUS Coach of the Year (Bob Boucher Trophy) for the 4th time in his career after leading a young Varsity Reds team to a 22-4-2 record and an 8th straight 1st place finish. MacDougall will be the conference nominee for the CIS Coach of the Year Award, which he won in 2009-10.

- Other awards handed out included the Most Sportsmanlike Player, given to Saint Mary's rookie forward Ben Duffy, and the Student-Athlete Community Service Award, given to St. FX X-Men forward Robert Slaney.

- Maillet and defenceman Jordan Murray were both named 1st team all-stars while Gazzola was named to the 2nd team. Gazzola and forward Cameron Brace were both recognized by being named to the all-rookie team.

- You can read the full press release here.