Saturday, February 24, 2018

Gazzola, Bennett Capture Major Awards

The first place University of New Brunswick Varsity Reds were well represented as the AUS announced the 2017-2018 men's hockey major award winners and all-stars earlier this week.

Defenceman Randy Gazzola was the big winner as he was the only player to take home a pair of major honours. The 4th year veteran claimed the Don Wells Trophy as the most sportsmanlike player as well as the coveted Godfrey Award, which recognizes both a player's on-ice and off-ice contributions. Gazzola was also named a second team all-star along with teammates Kris Bennett and Christopher Clapperton.

Varsity Reds leading scorer Kris Bennett was also recognized, being named the recipient of the A.J. MacAdam Trophy as the conference's top rookie. Bennett finished 2nd in the conference with 18 goals and 5th overall in points with 38 while also playing a key role on both special team's units. Bennett is joined on the all-rookie team with goaltender Rylan Parenteau.

Here is the full list of award winners and all-stars:

Most Valuable Player (Kelly Trophy) - G Chase Marchand, St. FX
Rookie if the Year (A.J. MacAdam Trophy) - F Kris Bennett, UNB
Coach of the Year (Bob Boucher Trophy) - Brad Peddle, St. FX
Most Sportsmanlike Player (Don Wells Trophy) - D Randy Gazzola, UNB
Student-Athlete Community Service Award (Godfrey Award) - D Randy Gazzola, UNB

All major award winners will now become the AUS nominee for the respective U Sports award, which will be presented at the University Cup Awards Gala on Wednesday, March 14th at the Richard J. Currie Center.

First Team All-Stars

G - Chase Marchand, St. FX
D - Jagger Dirk, St. FX
D - Ryan MacKinnon, UPEI
F - Hunter Garlent, SMU
F- Stephen Harper, ACA
F - Michael Clarke, St. FX

Second Team All-Stars

G - Corbin Boes, DAL
D - Randy Gazzola, UNB
D - Cole MacDonald, ST. FX
F - Kris Bennett, UNB
F - Christopher Clapperton, UNB
F - Boston Leier, ACA

All-Rookie Team

G - Rylan Parenteau, UNB
D - Santino Centorame, St. FX
D - Dylan DiPerna - SMU
F - Kris Bennett, UNB
F - Kameron Kielly, UPEI
F - Jake Coughler, SMU