Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Bennett, Gazzola Take Home Major Awards

Varsity Reds forward Kris Bennett and defenceman Randy Gazzola were both named recipients of U Sports major awards at the annual men's hockey Awards Gala earlier this evening at the Richard J. Currie Center on the campus of the University of New Brunswick.

After being awarded the AUS Rookie of the Year as well as being selected to the AUS all-rookie team earlier this month, Bennett replicated the feat on the national level. He was named the winner of the Clare Drake Award as the U Sports Rookie of the Year and earned a place on the U Sports all-rookie team. He joins defenceman Kevin Young (2003-2004) and Ryan Lindsay (1997-1998) as the only V-Reds to win the award.

Defenceman Randy Gazzola was named the winner of the R.W. Pugh Award as the nation's most sportsmanlike player. In 30 games this season the 4th year defender contributed 24 points, was a +13, and took only four minor penalties. He is only the second UNB player to earn this honour after Chris Culligan in 2014. Gazzola was also nominated for the Dr. Randy Gregg Award for outstanding community service, but lost out to Kendall McFaull of the Saskatchewan Huskies.

Here is the complete list of award winners and all-star teams:

Senator Joseph A. Sulivan Trophy (Player of the Year): Anthony Beauregard, Concordia
Dr. Randy Gregg Award (Student-Athlete Community Service): Kendall McFaull, Saskatchewan
Father George Kehoe Memorial Award (Coach of the Year): Kelly Nobes, McGill
R.W. Pugh Award (Most Sportsmanlike Player): Randy Gazzola, UNB
Clare Drake Award (Rookie of the Year): Kris Bennett, UNB
Defenceman of the Year: Jason Fram, Alberta
Goaltender of the Year: Chase Marchand, St. FX

First Team All-Canadians
F - Anthony Beauregard, Concordia
F - Hunter Garlent, Saint Mary's
F - Luke Philp, Alberta
D - Jason Fram, Alberta
D - Jagger Dirk, St. FX
G - Chase Marchand, St. FX

Second Team All-Canadians
F - Stephen Harper, Acadia
F - Matt Mistele, Ryerson
F - Joshua Roach, Saskatchewan
D - Alex Basso, Ryerson
D - Spencer Abraham, Queen's
G - Jordon Cooke, Saskatchewan

All-Rookie Team
F - Kris Bennett, UNB
F - Steven Owre, Alberta
F - Riley Brandt, RMC
D - Carl Neill, Concordia
D - Dylan DiPerna, Saint Mary's
G - Jordan Papirny, Calgary