Thursday, February 21, 2019

Clapperton Named MVP, Other Reds Honoured

The AUS announced its 2018-2019 men's hockey major award winners and all-star teams this afternoon, and a number of Reds received recognition.

Forward Christopher Clapperton was named the AUS MVP after leading the conference with 47 points, 33 assists, 5 game-winning goals and 125 shots on goal. He was 2nd in +/- with a +27 rating. He also earned a first-team all-star nod for the first time in his career.

Clapperton is the first Red player to be named MVP since Philippe Maillet two years ago. He will now be the AUS nominee for the Joseph A. Sullivan trophy as the country's top player, an award Maillet also won in 2015-2016.  

Defenceman Randy Gazzola repeated as winner of the Godfrey Award, which takes into account a player's leadership both on and off the ice as well as his conduct throughout the season. Gazzola becomes the first player in conference history to win it in back to back years. He will now become the AUS nominee for the Dr. Randy Gregg Award, an honour Kyle Bailey took home in 2011-2012. 

Joining Clapperton on the first team all-star squad is defenceman Matt Murphy, who led all d-men with seven goals and a +27 rating. 

Two Reds were also named second team all-stars with Tyler Boland (19 goals, 38 points, league-leading +28) and defenceman Olivier LeBlanc (25 points, +23) both being recognized for their excellent seasons. 

Finally, forwards Mark Rassell (13 goals, 29 points) and Matthew Boucher (13 goals, 28 points) were each named to the all-rookie team after ranking tied for 2nd and 4th, respectively, in the conference in freshman scoring. UNB has now placed at least one player on the all-rookie team every seasons since the team was introduced after the 2006-2007 season. 

Here are the complete winners: 

Most Valuable Player (Kelly Trophy): F Chris Clapperton (UNB)
Rookie Of The Year (A.J. MacAdam Trophy): G Etienne Montpetit (Moncton)
Most Sportsmanlike Player (Don Wells Trophy): F Adam Stevens (St. FX)
Student-Athlete Community Service Award (The Godfrey Award): D Randy Gazzola (UNB)
Coach Of The Year (Bob Boucher Trophy): Judes Vallee (Moncton)

First Team All-Stars
G - Etienne Montpetit (Moncton)
D - Nicholas Welsh (Saint Mary's)
D - Matt Murphy (UNB)
F - Chris Clapperton (UNB)
F - Hunter Garlent (Saint Mary's)
F - Maxime St-Cyr (Moncton)

Second Team All-Stars
G - Eric Brassard (Saint Mary's)
D - Olivier LeBlanc (UNB)
D - Alexander Peters (Saint Mary's)
F - Tyler Boland (UNB)
F - Kameron Kielly (UPEI)
F - Mark Tremaine (St. FX)

All-Rookie Team
G - Etienne Monpetit (Moncton)
D - Nicholas Welsh (Saint Mary's)
D - Garrett McFadden (Acadia)
F - Matthew Boucher (UNB)
F - Mark Rassell (UNB)
F - Dawson Theede (Saint Mary's)