Wednesday, March 13, 2019

Trio Of Reds Honoured At U Sports Awards Gala

While the action on the ice at the 2019 University Cup gets underway tomorrow afternoon, there was business to take care of off the ice this evening as the U Sports major award winners and all-star teams were handed out.

Among those honoured were Reds defenceman Randy Gazzola as the Randy Gregg award winner for community service, and forwards Christopher Clapperton - named to a 1st team all-Canadian and Matthew Boucher - named to the all-rookie team. 

Here are the complete results:

Player of the Year (Senator Joseph A. Sullivan Trophy): F Luke Philp (Alberta)
Goaltender of the Year: Taran Kozun (Saskatchewan)
Defenceman of the Year: Jason Fram (Alberta)
Rookie Of The Year (Clare Drake Award): G Etienne Monpetit (Moncton)
Most Sportsmanlike Player (R.W. Pugh Award): F Brendan Jacome (Ottawa)
Student-Athlete Community Service Award (Randy Gregg Award): D Randy Gazzola (UNB)
Coach Of The Year (Father George Kehoe Memorial Trophy): Patrick Grandmaitre (Ottawa)

First Team All-Stars
G - Taran Kozun (Saskatchewan)
D - Jason Fram (Alberta)
D - Alex Basso (Ryerson)
F - Chris Clapperton (UNB)
F - Luke Philp (Alberta)
F - Matt Mistele (Ryerson)

Second Team All-Stars
G - Etienne Montpetit (Moncton)
D - Nicholas Welsh (Saint Mary's)
D - Jesse Forsberg (Saskatchewan)
F - Riley Sheen (Calgary)
F - Slater Doggett (Queen's)
F - Hunter Garlent (Saint Mary's)

All-Rookie Team
G - Etienne Monpetit (Moncton)
D - Nicholas Welsh (Saint Mary's)
D - Connor Walters (Brock)
F - Matthew Boucher (UNB)
F - Grayson Pawlenchuk (Alberta)
F - Hugo Roy (Concordia)